언제 + vocabulary | [Word of the Day]

안녕하세요!

I’m not really sure when I should’ve posted a kpop update but I’m sure it should’ve been either today or yesterday. Since I started this post so late, I’ll do one on Thursday. The schedule on here is about to change starting next week because my schedule is changing! Yikes!! Bare with me guys!

Let’s get started!

I wasn’t sure how to title this post so we’re just gonna have to go with it today!

As you already know, 언제 (eonje) means “when”. We’ve talked about using it in a sentence before but not necessarily with words we’re been studying. I picked a few words we’ve gone over and I’ll add principles we’ve studied before to do these examples.

Key Words

  • 떠나다 | to leave
  • 도착하다 | to arrive [new word]
  • 마시다 | to drink
  • 자다 | to sleep

Let’s look at some examples using just these words and what we know about sentence structure and conjugation!

i.e.,

  • 언제 떠나? | “When are you leaving?”
  • 그것이 언제 도착해?| “When does it arrive?” 
  • 언제 마시고 싶어? | “When do you want to drink?”
  • 언제 자는가? | “When do you sleep?”

There’s nothing in the sentences above that we haven’t covered before except for the word 도착하다. Everything else is what we’ve been working on this whole time. Are you connecting the dots to begin making your own sentences?

We’ll finish this week with “what” before moving on to something new. I was thinking maybe focusing on “I am…”/”You are…”/”Are you…?”/”Is he/she…?”/etc. type sentences next week. I really want to start pulling everything together before we move on.

The ultimate goal is speaking Korean so let’s keep practicing!

Leave a comment