[Grammar of the Week] | 한다 vs. 한다고

안녕하세요!

Okay I can totally explain my absence! I’m really sorry! I took an impromptu vacation and didn’t have any auto-posts set up. I’m back now! (Yay?) Let’s get started?

Last week we talked about what 한다 was and how to use it. This week we are going to be looking at 한다고. But first, let’s review last week’s material.

-한다 | to do (at this moment)

  • present tense
  • conjugated verb ending
  • comes from the verb 하다

In relation to doing something at that very moment.

I realized in writing this post and last week’s post that I skipped information on the grammar principles behind both of these words,  -(ㄴ/는)다는, -(ㄴ/는)다고. We’ll cover those a little later. For now, let’s just focus on these particular words.

Okay, now with that in mind, let’s look at 한다고.

-한다고 | places emphasis on the verb it is modifying

i.e.,

  • 사랑한다고. | “I really love you. /[I said I love you.] we’ll cover this second meaning later on.

Alright so we’ll focus on verbs we already know for this week and then when we return to this lesson again I’ll add more information on both -한다  and -한다고.

That’s it for this week!7

Leave a Reply

