Wednesday Kpop Update | VIXX’s Ravi “R.EAL1ZE” Project + Park Bom Likes “XXI” Photo + MAMA 2016 Taeyeon vs Wiz Khalifa, What Happened?

 

So this was probably the most exciting thing I have seen in a while. This is Ravi’s  “R.EAL1ZE” Project.

. RAVI R.EAL1ZE PROJECT #real1ze_project #Ravi

A post shared by RAVI (@ravithecrackkidz) on

I have no clue what this is about. For now, it’s a mysterious project. However, if it’s anything like his last solo projects, this is sure to be epic!

Can’t wait to see more! For now, this is all we know.

. RAVI R.EAL1ZE PROJECT PLAN OPEN #RAVI #REAL1ZE_PROJECT #RAVI_1st_REAL_LIVE_REAL1ZE #20170106_07_08_REAL1ZE

A post shared by RAVI (@ravithecrackkidz) on

Get ready for January 2017!!


Rumors have been flying that 2NE1 maybe not officially over but only disbanded and rebranded to start over fresh. The new name? XXI. Now this is ALL speculation and rumors. Nobody knows for sure what XXI is or who will be apart of it but the fact Park Bom liked a speculation photo of it is fueling the rumors.

Keep in mind, Bom has not officially re-signed with YG and CL and Dara have re-signed as solo artists. If there is some type of way that this could happen in the future, I do believe it’ll come as a huge surprise to the fans because YG loves to do huge events. I don’t think they’d spoil it like this.

But it is nice to dream… so I won’t kill the dream. Keep Hope Alive!


I was beyond confused about this story when I first heard it! But then I ran across this interview from koreaboo and I’m here to share what I know and what I learned. I’m going to kinda break this up a bit and I won’t go over everything because a lot of it is back and forth. We’ll stick to the facts and see if we can solve this puzzle together.

Full article here: [★EXCLUSIVE] Here’s what really happened between Taeyeon and Wiz Khalifa at MAMA 2016

So this may be the big elephant in the room… why is Taeyeon beefing with Wiz Khalifa?? Are they really beefing? What happened??

Here are the facts:

  1. Wiz Khalifa collaborated with Taeyeon on the song “See You Again” which was originally sung with Charlie Puth.
  2. Wiz and Taeyeon flew in for MAMA 2016 for a special stage, presenting the collab for the first time to the world.
  3. The stage never happened.

Okay, here is the real problem… what happened to cause this stage to never happen?

I’m going to take this in pieces because this is a long ride so hang on tight.

Wiz’s side:

So we got that part of it.

And then of course came the infamous part where they were told there may have been a translation issue because they were told that not only had she requested a separate stage but that she was going to the hospital. It now being taken to mean that it was meant she was going to the hotel. Regardless of all of this, they figured if she was going to perform that night anyway, at least allow her to perform with Wiz. They were told no.

Taeyeon’s side: [Released Statement]

“I see a lot of people being very curious about the performance yesterday so I’ll explain (I would be curious too). I was getting ready for the rehearsal and saying hi to Wiz Khalifa. I was excited for the performance and getting ready. Then I heard that there was a problem with the music. Due to this reason I was unable to even go through mic checks with him properly and unable to join him on stage.

For a live performance, you need an MR version of the song but they only had the AR ready. I was a bit taken aback since I was supposed to do a live performance, but I wanted to be on stage with him because the important thing was that we had a chance to collaborate…and honestly a chance like this doesn’t come often ^^. So I thought maybe if I sang louder than the AR vocal than I would be able to mask it ㅋㅋㅋ. The producers wanted to do their best and make the best performance possible. So we decided to go ahead with the AR. But then a few hours before the show I heard the news that my part had been cancelled. I guess performing overseas makes a lot of things unpredictable. Even during rehearsals the day before I heard that there was something wrong with the sound system, so I ended up returning to the hotel after waiting without even rehearsing.

I guess a lot of problems coincided. I was so saddened and disappointed that I had to return without being able to perform such a stage. I hope no misunderstandings happen because of this issue. I know there were people excited to see the performance after hearing about it. I promise you that I will return with a better stage next time. I am so grateful for everyone that supported me until the end yesterday.”

(source: koreaboo)

The point is, when you’re handling a performance like this with artists who are pretty much performing not only together for the first time but also in a high profile light, there needs to be much much more communication.

There was not enough proper communication between the labels and agencies. There was not enough communication between staff. And there was not enough communication at MAMA. Will they try this again? Honestly I don’t know.

However, it’s important to note that there is no bad blood between the artists.

And now… new music!


Leave a Reply

