Wednesday Kpop Update | DSP Media Teases with “K.A.R.D” + Former 2NE1 Members Release Personal Statements Following Disbandment + New Music Videos

Surprise! I’m back with a full post this time… but I come bearing bad news.

It’s a sad day in the kpop world. But before we talk about the depressing matters, let’s focus on the lighthearted news.

DSP Media is testing the waters and teasing the fans with one tweet.

I don’t know about guys but I’m super ready to find out what this means.


And now for the news currently breaking the internet. It was announced yesterday but it is official today, Go Ara is no longer part of SM Entertainment. Ara’s contract officially expired as of November 30, 2016. She’s now a free agent.

I have to say you guys, I’m completely torn by this. First there was the news of KARA’s disbandment and I was sure all the members would stay and work with SM and now it seems that won’t be happening. After 13 years of being signed to the agency, it seems that her time there has now come to an end.

Wishing her all the best on this new journey!


And the posts that broke my heart more than anything else today… even though it was announced before that 2ne1 is no more. (I almost cried typing that.) The ladies of 2ne1 decided to issue their own statements regarding the disbandment for the Blackjacks all over. It feels like I lost a family member. I followed their journey, loved their music, and really enjoyed watching them perform and now just like that, it’s all over.

Translation:

“Fans~ Around the world.. Hello this is Bom, whom you fans have always loved and protected… Our Blackjacks! You really waited so long for us… It’s regrettable… and I have nothing to say other than sorry… It hurts a lot… but I wanted to write a letter…What I can say right now… is that I did my best… I waited, anticipated, and prepared various things to show our fans… but things in this world don’t seem to happen the way I’d like them to…” “It’s not like we did this halfheartedly for a few years… So how can we erase everything in one fell swoop… T.T??… What to do… T.T Although it’s upsetting… I will strive to never forget our ‘memories,’… All our happy moments and joyful times… T.T Although I’m shedding bitter tears… I will keep them in my heart… When I think about parting ways with Dara, Chaerin, and Minzy, I become speechless… I suddenly can’t breath… I can’t write anymore because it hurts too much… The four of us… “‘Because we had you, we could do anything…’ I won’t forget you… Thank you… T.T””

View image on Twitter

Many fans have begun to speculate that the disbandment of 2NE1 was in favor of putting full focus on Blackpink. I don’t like that theory only because it creates too much tension towards a group that has done nothing wrong.

However, with all the drama surrounding 2NE1 with Minzy leaving, Park Bom’s issues, and CL’s solo career… it would seem like there may be another reason aside from other groups at YG that would cause this decision. And it is a bit peculiar to me that this would come on the heels of rumors of 2NE1’s new album now being calling a potential “breakup album” that was set to be released and now all recorded material scrapped.

So many theories. So much speculation. I’ll just wait on YG’s statement before giving my opinion. For now, let’s reflect on the legacy and wonderful music that 2NE1 left for the world.


Of course the news isn’t being taken well by fans. Twitter erupted with disbelief and displeasure at the idea that YG would not only allow 2NE1 to disband but also allow Taehyun to leave the agency with hashtags like #JusticeFor2NE1 and #JusticeForTaehyun. For those of you who haven’t heard, on November 25th, YG officially terminated the contract of WINNER’s Nam Taehyun citing Nam’s “mental condition” and inability “to predict the recovery and comeback”.

The remaining members have been prioritizing Nam’s mental condition and wait for his recovery, but as it is something that he has dealt with since he was young, it is hard to predict the recovery and comeback,” said the company. “Although Nam is unable to continue with Winner, both parties will be supporting each others’ music activities. Nam and Winner will remain as colleagues who support each other.”

(source: The Jakarta Post)

I understand medical issues and health coming first so maybe this is temporary? Hopefully, when he is well, we will see him make a comeback into the entertainment scene.

I think I’m done depressing you guys for one day.

New Music Videos Below.

Leave a Reply

