Grammar of the Week | -도 (even if, even though) + 먹다 + 도 [Word of the Day]

안녕하세요!

The holiday is over and I have officially emerged from my vacation to bring you a new Grammar lesson. This is something I mentioned before during a kpop teaches Korean too lesson but I’m not really sure if I went into a lot of detail so this will be short.

The topic is -도. This is one of the many ways you can combine sentences.

도 | “even if; even though”

i.e.,

  • Even though I ate, I’m still hungry.
  • Even if I leave now, I’ll still be late.

We can create these same sentences in Korean by adding 도 to the end of the verb.

Let’s use the example of the WOTD 먹다 + 도.

먹다 | familiar verb mean, “to eat”

i.e.,

  • 먹다 + 도 = 먹어도  | “even though I eat, even if I eat”

We are going to use this in the past tense just to show that it can be done in present, past or future tense.

  • 먹었도 여전히 배가 고프다. | Even though I ate, I’m still hungry.

Okay,  so I’m going to stop here. We will be covering this all week!

Leave a Reply

