Grammar of the Week | Passive Verbs, Active Verbs, and Descriptive Verbs pt. 1

안녕하세요!

I did a lot of research trying to figure out where to begin with the new grammar lessons and I determined, based on everything we’ve covered and discussed over the last few months that this should continue on as Level 6. That seems pretty high right? Well, truthfully, we’ve done a lot! That’s still beginners level but it’s more on track with where we should be.

Today is going to be more of definitions and then we’ll do examples throughout the week. This week, we’re focusing on Passive Verbs.

What are passive verbs?

Passive verbs are when the action happens to the subject of the sentence but the subject is not actively involved in performing the action. Passive verbs cannot act on a subject, instead, they show that an action was performed on the subject.

i.e.,

  • The speech was given by me.
    • The speech is the subject and the action performed on it was that it was given.

So how is this expressed?

There are suffixes, -이/히/리/기 and -아/어/여지다 that are used on verbs to express passive verbs. However, for me, one of the easiest ways I’ve found is with verbs ending in 하다 which can be conjugated to 되다 to express a passive verb in a sentence.

i.e.,

  • 말해하다 to 말해된다 | to speak = to be spoken
  • 제공하다 to 제공되다 | to provide = to be provided

I’m going to try to incorporate the suffixes and 하다 verbs this whole week. To be honest, I really did want to back out of this to do something a lot easier because I struggled a bit with it. Well, I struggled more with this than I thought I would only because I kept trying to do this in English but I have to remember to stay in Korean. However, that’s all part of learning. It’s time to start raising the difficulty level. We’re all learning together so let’s each work hard!

That’s it for today!

Leave a Reply

