Kpop Teaches Korean Too | Hyomin “Gold”

안녕하세요!

Today officially ends the week of kpop. I’m a little sad to see this end but I know I’ll probably be doing this again soon. Be on the lookout! To end the week, I decide to do one of my favorite songs. It’s not “new-new” but it is fairly recent.

Let’s get started!

길 잃은 꿈을 헤맨 어느 날
천 개의 별처럼 내게 다가와
내 조각난 삶을 이어 주던 밤
두 눈에 비쳐 온 처음 보는 나

gil ilheun kkumeul hemaen eoneu nal
cheon gaeui byeolcheoreom naege dagawa
nae jogaknan salmeul ieo judeon bam
du nune bichyeo on cheoeum boneun na

 길 잃은 꿈을 헤맨 어느 날 (gil ilheun kkumeul hemaen eoneu nal)

  • 길 | road; path
  • 꿈을 | dream + object particle
  • 날 | day

Unfamiliar words:

  • 잃은 | comes from 잃다 meaning “to lose”
  • 헤맨 | to wonder
  • 어느 | which; certain; one

“One day I was wandering lost in a dream”


천 개의 별처럼 내게 다가와 (cheon gaeui byeolcheoreom naege dagawa)

  • 천 개의 | thousand
    • this probably isn’t as familiar. We’ve covered numbers before but I don’t remember going past 100. However, you probably have heard it or recognize it if you’re learning Korean because you probably spent time covering numbers. If you haven’t, I do suggest doing that if you’re wondering what you could study.
  • 별처럼
    • 별 | star
    • 처럼 | like – comparison
  • 내게 | to me
  • 다가와 | came

“You came to me like a thousand stars”  [“You” can be inferred here since the song is about someone else. ]


내 조각난 삶을 이어 주던 밤 (nae jogaknan salmeul ieo judeon bam)

  • nae | my/mine
  • bam | night
  • 삶을 | life
    • 삶 ‎(sam) | “living”, this is the noun variation of the verb 살다 (salda)
  • 주던 | to do something for someone
    • I struggled a bit with this one because I wasn’t entirely sure what she was trying to say. Here’s why:
    • 주 comes from 주다 meaning “to give” or to do for someone else. However, it can also mean, “alcohol”, “root”, etc. I figured that’s not what she was talking about but instead she was talking about doing something for someone. This is one of those things that involves knowing/understanding context.
    • 던 is a past tense particle. So this was something that was given or gifted in the past tense.

Unfamiliar words:

  • 조각난 | fragmented; broken; shattered
  • 이어 | “to join”
    • This actually is another context word. What I mean is, this comes from the verb,잇다 (itda) meaning “to follow”. But it also meaning, “continuous” and “to join”. Looking at the context, you can be sure she’s not talking about following or continuous action, so it has to be joined.

“You put my broken life together” 

  • Context words in application
    • joined = together
    • put = to give/do something for someone
  • The accurate word for word translation in my head (and what I originally thought this meant) doesn’t make a lot of sense.

두 눈에 비쳐 온 처음 보는 나 (du nune bichyeo on cheoeum boneun na)

  • 두 | two
  • 눈에 | eyes + location particle (this is important)
  • 처음 | first time
  • 보는 | saw; to see + subject particle
  • 나 | I

Unfamiliar word:

  • 비쳐 | comes from the verb 비치다 ‎(bichida) meaning “to shine” or “reflect”

“I saw myself reflected/shining in your eyes for the first time” 

Location particle application let us know that the location of what was being reflected/shining was in the eyes so it helps figure out the sentence.

Okay, so that’s it for this week! Now let’s put it all together!

길 잃은 꿈을 헤맨 어느 날
천 개의 별처럼 내게 다가와
내 조각난 삶을 이어 주던 밤
두 눈에 비쳐 온 처음 보는 나

gil ilheun kkumeul hemaen eoneu nal
cheon gaeui byeolcheoreom naege dagawa
nae jogaknan salmeul ieo judeon bam
du nune bichyeo on cheoeum boneun na

One day I was wandering lost in a dream
You came to me like a thousand stars
You put my broken life together
I saw myself reflected/shining in your eyes for the first time

 

Leave a Reply

