Day6 “First Time” | [Word of the Day] | Kpop Teaches Korean Too

안녕하세요!

So today ends  this week’s Kpop Teaches Korean Too. I honestly had a lot of fun doing this and I’m thinking about it doing it again. I focused more on the hook of the song this week, but next time I do this, I want to focus on lyrics. Hopefully you guys have enjoyed this as much as I have. Today’s lesson will be a little shorter.

Line by line… here we go! Remember, when you do this while listening to different Kpop songs, listen for words that you already know to help figure out the meaning of what’s being said in the song. If there are English words, you can typically use them to help you with the translation, but sometimes that doesn’t always work like with the song we’re using today.

For the first time
너와 다른 곳을 향해 걸어가
I say goodbye to you you
For the first time
다른 꿈을 가지고 걸어가
I say goodbye to you
이 말이 마지막이 될 수 있게

For the first time

Neowa dareun goseul hyanghae georeoga

I say goodbye to you you

For the first time

Dareun kkumeul gajigo georeoga

I say goodbye to you

i mari majimagi doel su issge

I’m going to leave out the English parts of these lyrics because we only want to focus on the Korean part. You can use the English as markers in other songs but in this one, it might not be that helpful.

 

너와 다른 곳을 향해 걸어가 (Neowa dareun goseul hyanghae georeoga)

  • 너와 | I am
  • 곳을 | place
  • 걸어가 | walking

Okay, the two words below, I added as potentially unfamiliar words because I don’t remember talking about them before. Even though I know what they mean, we’re going to treat them like they’re new words. Remember to write down words you don’t understand and look them up later.

다른 (dareun) | “different”
향해 (hyanghae) | “toward”
 

“I’m walking toward a different place” (A more comfortable way to say this in English would be, “I’m walking in a different direction”)

다른 꿈을 가지고 걸어가 (Dareun kkumeul gajigo georeoga)

  • 다른 | different
  • 꿈을 | dreams
  • 가지고 걸어가 | I am walking/I have walked

“I am walking with different dreams”

이 말이 마지막이 될 수 있게 (i mari majimagi doel su issge)

  • 이 | this
  • 말이 | words/speak
  • 될 수 있게 | This could be
Potentionally an unfamiliar word:
마지막 (majimagi) | “last”
 

“These words could be the last”

You may have noticed that I combined phrases this time around. For the purpose of translation and understanding, I wanted to keep certain phrases together so that they’d make more sense. Since this isn’t a Grammar post, I won’t go into too much detail on a lot of the principles this time around.

Altogether:

For the first time

I’m walking toward a different place

I say goodbye to you you

For the first time

I am walking with different dreams

I say goodbye to you

These words could be the last

Alright, so that ends that for this week! Again, I hope this was useful and I think I’ll do this again soon. New Grammar of the Week/WOTD next week! (This time I’ll be more diligent in getting it done!)

See ya next week!

Leave a Reply

