하다 (hada) + -(으)ㄹ 게요 | [Word of the Day]

안녕하세요!

Alright, so we are still working on using -(으)ㄹ 게요. Now last week I made a bit of a blunder. I said that (으)ㄹ 거예요 was used to reference your actions in the future based on what the other person said. That’s not true and I’m sorry. I literally had it correct the first time but then for some reason I thought it was the other way around and I changed it and confused the entire situation.

Whew!

However, this week is all about correction. The previous posts have been corrected to reflect the actual meaning. I’ll reiterate here one last time:

  •  (으)ㄹ 거예요 is used to reflect future actions regardless of what the other person says.
  • -(으)ㄹ 게요 is used to reflect future actions based on what someone else says.

Okay?

  • 하다 (hada) | “to do”
    • 하다 + -(으)ㄹ 게요
    • 할게요 | “I will do (it)”

i.e.,

  • 너 날 도움이 될 것? (neo nal doum-i doel geos?) | “Will you help me?”
  • 네, 할게요. (Ne halgeyo) | “Yes, I will do it.” 

Future actions were determined by the question posed by the first person. Pretty simple. We’ll go over this all this week.

Please be sure to go back over the previous word of the day posts, links are below. The information has been updated!

Grammar of the Week

Word of the Day

Leave a Reply

