Foreign Language Tip #13 | You Can Learn in a Year… With Realistic Goals!

Many different software programs, paid courses, and websites will scream at you in the title:

“LEARN KOREAN IN JUST ONE YEAR!… by registering for our monthly installment courses that’ll eat a hole in your pocket for $19.99 a month for the first 3 months.

To be honest… that’s not necessary. It’s not something that will speed up your process if you sign up or hinder you if you don’t. It all depends on how you learn. Don’t feel pressured to sign up for these things.

Or, maybe you’ve heard time and time again people say, “I learning (x) in 6 months” or “I learning (y) in a year!” But how did they do it? For a lot of them, it could be that they used a language learning program or even took a class but for the few that learned on their own, I can guarantee you they set realistic goals. We’ve talked about this before and why it’s so super important to list out goals to help you through this journey, but I’m not here to rehash that, I’m here to motivate you a bit.

Everybody doesn’t learn at the same pace or in the same way, but they can still meet the same end goals.

Here’s how:

It’s not about what you study, it’s about how you study!

I’ve said this before and I will say it again, study things that matter, true, but study in increments of time that benefit you! Don’t study for an hour when you only need 15 minutes. And don’t study for three days a week when you need to study for at least five.

  • For example: I need at least 5 minutes every day to review my vocabulary along with an additional 30-45 minutes each day to review my lessons. Do I always stick to this? No, because I am admittedly lazy when it comes to my own personal studying, but when I do I benefit from each session. I walk away, not feeling bogged down and hazy, but remembering everything I just went over and I can talk about that day’s lesson the next day and the day after.

That’s how you should study. You have to pick a schedule that works for you. If you need 2 days a week and 10 minutes each of those two days, then that’s fine. Everybody learns differently and everybody moves at a different pace.

Be honest with yourself!

Are you struggling learning on your own? Are you having problems in your classes or tutoring sessions? Are you in anyway feeling left behind because you’re stuck at a particle point? Maybe it’s with conjugation or maybe it’s a Grammar lesson that you just didn’t understand, whatever it is, you have to be completely honest with yourself on your progress. You won’t get further along if you’re pretending like you understand something when you don’t. It’s okay to be confused. And it’s also okay, when you’re confused, to reach out for help.

It Is Okay To Ask For Help!!! 

I will say again. It is Okay to Ask For Help!! If you are struggling and you’re in class, find time to talk with your professor, teacher, or any supplemental instructor. Or maybe there’s someone in your class who totally understands this, ask them! If you’re studying on your own, reach out to sources like italki, youtubers who teach Korean, websites that offer assistance (legitimate ones), or even me! I am more than willing to be a resource to anyone who needs help in learning Korean. I have been asked by people in the comments plenty of times about word definitions or Grammar principles, I don’t mind being assistance at all. And if there’s a topic that even I struggle with or don’t know, we’ll figure it out together because two heads are always better than one!

And just think, if you ask a question in the comments, there may be someone else who is struggling with the same topic and will benefit from any answers you receive. So not only have you gotten help but you’ve helped someone else just because you weren’t afraid to ask.

Remember, this journey is yours and yours alone to take. It doesn’t matter if it takes you one year or five or 10-15 years. However long it takes for you to learn is not what’s important, what’s important is that you put forth effort, you studied and you did your best.

So remember,

  1. Set Realistic Goals
  2. Set a Schedule that works for you
  3. Be honest with yourself on your progress
  4. Ask for help when you need it

That’s all for today!

New WOTD and Grammar of the Week next week! And maybe a special make-up/culture/art/etc. post tomorrow… I don’t know yet. Don’t hold me to that!

Leave a Reply

