Grammar of the Week | 으로 (eu-lo) part 2 + 동안 (dong-an) | [Word of the Day]

안녕하세요!

Hopefully, I haven’t already covered this word and if I have, we’ll just call this review. So this is one of those words that I struggle with. I’ve been trying to compile a list of words like, “before”, “after”, etc. for maybe a Grammar of the Week special day, but I keep skipping this word everytime I mention that list.

동안 (dong-an) | “during”

This word is interesting because of how it can be used. For example, “I’m here for a short time.” To express the duration of the time you’ll be present, you can actually use (dong-an).

i.e.,

  • 그곳에 오랫동안 살았어. (geugos-e olaesdong-an sal-ass-eo.) | “I lived there for a long time.”

There are more scenarios that I can’t think of at the present moment where this word would be used. For now, we’ll leave it here and come back to it at another time.


And now, as promised, on to the Grammar of the Week…

Alright so first, a quick review!

으로 (eu-lo)

  • 으로 (eu-lo) is for consonants
    • 손으로 (son-eulo) | “with hands”; “by hand”
  • 로 (-lo) is for vowels
    • 버스로 (beoseu-lo) | “by bus”/”on the bus”

I didn’t really specify last time what this was for, so I’ll go ahead and clarify today. This is used to show usage. So like the examples above show, “with hands” or “by bus”, it’s put to show how you use something. Or in some cases, how you’ll be traveling. Which brings us to part 2 of today’s Grammar of the Week… Direction/Destination!

But in order to discuss this, we need to talk about the subtle differences between this and another particle you may have heard of before. You’re probably familiar with the location particle, -에. This is added to places in a sentence to mark it as a location. So just like there are particles to mark nouns/objects, this particle works in the same manner.

으로 serves a similar purpose when used to discussion destinations or directions.

Now they two, though similar, are not exactly interchangeable. Here’s what I mean:

  • I am heading to the store.
    • Here, you’re talking about where you’re going, or the direction you are taking. Think: Travel.
  • I’m going home.
    • The store is the location of where you’re going.
    • Think: To arrive/arrival

It can be a bit confusing because it sounds like I’m discussing the same thing. One is discussing the actual travel and the other is discussing the final destination or your ultimate location.

Is that confusing?

으로 | “travel” 

  • This is the direction I’m going

-에 | “location” 

  • This is the place where I will be/my current location

Let’s look at some examples of how it would be used in a sentence.

  • 으로
    • 내가 학교으로 갈거야. | “I am heading to school.”
  • -에
    • 나는 공원에 갈거야. | “I am going to the park.” 

We’ll probably return to this topic again. It has been a bit challenging for me to grasp and sometimes I just don’t use 으로 out all just out of pure confusion. But I’ll review this again next week before we move on.

That’s all for this week!

Leave a Reply

