“Tuesday” Kpop Update | 4Minute Disbands, Statement + Jellyfish New Girl Group, Three Members from Produce 101 + Why Was I.O.I Edited Out of Dream Concert Broadcast?

Today is extremely rare right?! A blog post on a Tuesday! Your eyes are not deceiving you. This is really happening. And though I would’ve loved to have to started today on a good note, I have to say I’m a bit upset by the news today.


4Minute, one of my all-time favorite girl groups has decided to disband. It was bad enough that 2NE1 will never be the same but now 4Minute too??? Say it ain’t so!!

“As the contract end date approaches, the members have been in discussions for renewal, but while the agency tried to persuade them to continue the group, it ended up accepting the decision by the five members that they will not continue as a group.” The rep adds, “Due to the different opinion of the members, for all intents and purposes, the group will disband.”

(source: soompi)

It seems that Hyuna has actually decided to stay with Cube Entertainment however, it is uncertain whether the other members will also renew their contracts as solo artists.

It really makes me sad because I really thought they’d sign for another year or so but I guess it was time for them to go their separate ways. I wish them all the best even if this does pain me to say goodbye to 4Minute.


In the wake of 4Minute’s disbandment and a new girl group announcement from YG, Jellyfish has announced that they as well will be joining the fray and is in the process of introducing their own new girl group.

Surprise… Three of the members are from Produce 101!

On June 13th, Jellyfish Entertainment began teasing for their new girl group on their SNS accounts, writing, “Who is gx9? Kim Nayoung, Kim Sejeong, Kang Mina. Who is [the] next girl?” and posted what was most likely the girl group’s debut logo design.

(source: koreaboo)

Along with the teaser about gx9, they’ve released teasers for the first revealed members.

I’m pretty excited for this.


And finally, we get an answer from SBS about why I.O.I was edited out completely from the Dream Concert broadcast. The excuse?

SBS stated today, June 13 KST, “The reason why I.O.I was entirely edited out of the Dream Concert was because of the broadcast length. Other teams were also edited out. There was no malicious intent… “All performances were aired on SBS Plus, but on the main SBS channel, due to the TV programming schedule, a portion of the performances were inevitably cut out.”

(source: soompi)

Naturally fans were and still are outraged. I guess it makes sense but at the same time it doesn’t make sense. Everyone is kinda looking closely at I.O.I and considering the fact that they won’t be together long, I think after one year they’ll disband, it would make sense to me if they got a lot of airtime for the time being.

I don’t know about this one.

Leave a Reply

