Grammar of the Week | 았/었으면 좋겠다 (I hope/I Wish) pt 2. + 하루 (haru) [Word of the Day]

안녕하세요!

This is the post that almost never was because I was about to move on to a completely different topic!! I forgot I was going to do examples this week. 미안해!!

Let’s start with the Word of the Day!

하루 (haru) | “a day”

It’s pretty straight forward this time.


Now for review!

By using “~았/었으면 좋겠다”. When you attach this to the end of a verb or adjective, the meaning becomes “I hope” or “I wish”.

For example:

  • Verb: 얻다 (eotda) | “to get; to receive”
  • Sentence: 차가 얻으면 좋겠어요. (chaga eod-eumyeon johgess-eoyo.) | “I hope to get a car.”

Ok so let’s look at some more examples of this.

  • 사전에 말해 줬어 좋겠어요. | “I wish you told me that in advance.”
  • 그것은 맑은 내일 좋겠어요. | “I hope it’s sunny tomorrow.”

Again, you may notice a mixture of past tense (면) and future tense (겠어요) in the examples. Regardless of the mixture, it’s still expressing the same thought of “hoping” or “wishing”. The idea is that the speaker, despite their current situation, is hoping for the situation to happen or wishing that it had happened.

I hope this topic makes a little bit more sense now.

Next week, we will move on to a new topic!

Leave a Reply

