Wednesday Music Update | Minzy Breaks Silence – Releases Statement + Inkigayo Release Statement Amidst I.O.I Exclusion Rumors + Jessica’s New Solo Debut “With Love, J” + New Music Videos

The music world this week has been extremely busy. With new releases and comeback news, I’m surprised the world has not tilted yet.

Dal Shabet has been preparing fans for Subin’s new single, “Flower”. She’s released two more teaser photos before the release at Noon on May 12th KST.

Another recently announced solo debut artist, INFINITE’s Woohyun seems to have proven he truly has strong staying power in this industry. “Write…” went on pre-sale on May 9th and the 50,000 copies completely sold out before the official release on May 10th! Woolim went into overdrive trying to produce more albums overnight only to have to inform fans that production might take a little longer than expected. DEAN is also taking the world by storm by announcing his New York concert debut in June. After taking SXSW by storm back in March, he’s ready to return to the States for a showcase on the West Coast. Tickets are on sale starting at $45 on May 13th at Eventbrite!

And looks like we’ll be seeing Rapper Microdot in the near future! After seeing his performance on Show Me The Money 4, Culture Think has officially signed him to there label. They were thoroughly impressed with his performance and stage presence and are convinced he’ll be the perfect fit for their label. Sechs Kies also has officially signed with a label and they’ve signed with YG Entertainment. All the members, except Go Ji Young, have officially reunited to release new music for the fans. This comes right after their surprise reunion on Infinity Challenge.


But speaking of YG… 

After announcing to the world that Minzy had chosen not to re-sign with the label and ultimately parting ways to 2NE1, rumors began sprouting out about the labels she would sign to or even if she would ever sign to a new label again. All the speculations about why she left and whether she was ok began creeping into the atmosphere and still not one word from Minzy herself.

She finally broke her silence by releasing a statement in the form of a letter to her fans through instagram. She writes:

Hello, this is Minzy. It is with a sincere heart that I write to you all. First, I would like to apologize to all those who expressed shock at the news of my departure. It is after careful consideration and much deliberation that I have decided to pursue a new journey as an artist named Minzy Kong. Ever since debuting with 2NE1 at the young age of 16, I have been grateful for the wonderful memories I shared with incredible fans worldwide. These experiences were undeniably precious and I take none of them for granted. Thank you all for helping me grow as an artist. I promise to work even harder to return before you all with an improved and more honest version of myself. Through a renewed vision and hard work, I hope to reciprocate the love, dedication, and support that you have shown me. Thank you to all the fans, family, and friends who have shown me their love and concern. I promise to return soon. love, Minzy

A post shared by MINZY (@_minzy_mz) on

“Hello, this is Minzy. It is with a sincere heart that I write to you all. First, I would like to apologize to all those who expressed shock at the news of my departure. It is after careful consideration and much deliberation that I have decided to pursue a new journey as an artist named Minzy Kong. Ever since debuting with 2NE1 at the young age of 16, I have been grateful for the wonderful memories I shared with incredible fans worldwide. These experiences were undeniably precious and I take none of them for granted. Thank you all for helping me grow as an artist. I promise to work even harder to return before you all with an improved and more honest version of myself. Through a renewed vision and hard work, I hope to reciprocate the love, dedication, and support that you have shown me. Thank you to all the fans, family, and friends who have shown me their love and concern. I promise to return soon. love, Minzy”

And though I’m sure fans will surely miss her when 2NE1 re-emerges as a trio now, it’s for the best. Let’s keep supporting them all as they go through this transition.


Inkigayo is doing damage control as rumors spiral that they deliberately excluded I.O.I from early voting. The voting list was released on May 22nd and listed songs from Sech Kies, Busker Busker, and even Crush’s new song “woo ah”. But I.O.I, who released “Dream Girl” on the same day as Crush’s single, was not on the list which prompted many fans to assume that the action was deliberate.

I.O.I has been unable to appear on any public broadcasting music show which means they haven’t been doing much promoting so nobody expected the outright exclusion. Today Inkigayo responded saying simply, “it’s nothing personal, they’re just too new”.

“The announcement of totals on the online audience board is last year’s. Every week, the No. 1 place is decided through the system. The system totals up various weights using music chart rankings as reference…. I.O.I’s song has not been released long enough to gather data. Early voting is only available for songs that were within the Top 60 in the past week.”

(source: soompi)

In spite of all of that, I.O.I still may be able to appear on Inkigayo in the future.

I guess that’s the silver lining in all of this… 


To end on a happy note!

Check out Jessica’s newest teaser for her brand new solo debut of her album, “With Love, J”.  The official release date is May 17th at midnight!


And now for some new music…

Leave a Reply

