Grammar of the Week | -게 하다 (to make; to let) + 둘러보다 (dulleoboda) [Word of the Day]

안녕하세요!

So this post will probably be one of the hardest one that I’ve done in a while. I’m currently using a mobile hotshot to type this from my tablet because the internet stopped working. (Kpop Update will be tomorrow. Autocorrect is making this incredibly difficult.)

Let’s get started!

둘러보다 (dulleoboda) | “to look around”


Alright so this week’s subject may be familiar. I’m not 100% sure if I’ve talked about this before but I don’t think I have. I’ll just talk about it briefly today and then next week we’ll go into detail and do some examples.

The concept of “to make” in Korean is similar to English. There are two different meanings, there’s “만들다 (to make something)” like building or cooking and the concept of making as in “I made a 100 on my test” or “I make my family proud”. We’re going to talk about the latter portion.

Now this is where it gets a little tricky. I had to do a bit of research on this topic because it is a bit different than  English. Why? Well because apparently in Korean, letting and making someone do something isn’t exactly distinguishable. So “I let my friend drive” and “I made my friend drive” are said similarly.

I.e,

  • 난 내 친구 드라이브게 했다. (nan nae chingu deulaibeuga haessda.) | “I let/made my friend drive.”

How does this sentence take this meaning? The suffix -게 하다, which still has to be conjugated, takes on the meaning of “to let/to make”.

So we’re going to stop here because this topic can get a bit difficult and it’s hard to go into detail with autocorrect.

See ya next week!

Leave a Reply

