Dates and Location in Korean | Part 1(??) [Grammar of the Week]

안녕하세요!

Last week, I think I spent a lot of time building up to this post. I’m still realllllyyyy excited about doing this one. We’ll do a bit of review first.

Dates: 2015년 7월 12일

Dates are written as 년 (year), 월 (month), 일 (day). Adding numbers is the easiest way to write the date but you can write out the numbers if you want too. I personally prefer using numbers.

Time:  오전 (a.m.)  오후 (p.m.) 9시 15분

시 (hours) and 분 (minutes). Same thing with dates, you can write the numbers all the way out if you want too, but I prefer to write numbers.

Ok, now that we got the review out of the way, let’s start combining everything we’ve done this week into sentences that you can use in everyday conversations.

Examples:

  1. 나는 2015년 7월 30일에 파티를하고 있습니다. = I am having a party on July 30, 2015.
  2. 회의 3시15분 내일입니다. = The meeting is tomorrow at 3:15.
  3. 어떤 시간은 리허설입니다? = What time is rehearsal?
    1. 리허설은 2015년 7월 16일에 5:15입니다. = Rehearsal is at 5:15 on July 16, 2015.

It’s a bit challenging to figure out how to pull it all together. In all honesty, this is one of those topics that I’ve struggled through since I first started learning Korean. However, I will be returning to this subject in the future. I just wanted to go over since I’ve been meaning to do it for a long time.

Leave a Reply

